Civil Service Examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission. To know more about exam visit UPSC.

How to become an IAS officer

June 5, 2020 · 3 min read • 



The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is one of the most prestigious service among the three All India Services. IAS is a dream of many youngsters in India due to its lucrative salary structure, guaranteed career growth, and the power associated with it. The candidates must pass the Civil Service Examination being conducted by Union Public Service Commission as well as satisfy minimum physical standards to qualify for the service.

To apply for the Civil Service Examination, one must wait for the notification being issued by the UPSC. You can expect notification in the month of February each year.

Minimum Qualification

1.Degree Passed/Appearing final year exam

2. 21 years of age as on August of the year in which the candidate is appearing for the exam



Join Kerala’s Best IAS Academy and study for civil servce with scholarship

@ just INR 1,300/- per month

IAS Indepth

To advertise: write to


This year, the first stage of the exam i.e, the preliminary was postponed due to the outbreak of global pandemic (COVID-19). The preliminary exam is a screening test consisting of two objective multiple choice question papers. This test is a common test for various services including the Indian Foreign Service (IFS).

Preliminary Exam

1.General Studies – 2 Hours – 100 questions – 200 marks

2. CSAT – 2 Hours – 80 questions – 200 marks (qualifying paper – just score 33 per cent mark)

On the basis of Prelims result, candidates can appear in the Mains exam of a descriptive nature. Candidates must fill a Detailed Application Form (DAF) to be submitted before the exam on the basis of which an Admit card will be issued by the UPSC. This exam demand conceptual clarity more than factual understanding.

Mains Exam

Indian Language Compulsory – 300 marks – qualifying paper

2.English – 300 marks – qualifying paper

3.Essay – 250 marks

4.GS Paper 1 – 250 marks

5.GS Paper 2 – 250 marks

6. GS Paper 3 – 250 marks

7.GS Paper 4 – 250 marks

8.Optional Subject Paper 1 – 250 marks

9.Optional Subject Paper 2 – 250 marks

The final stage of the exam is personality test. More than his/her Knowledge, the candidates’ personality is being assessed in order to test the ability of the candidate to handle responsible bureaucratic positions.


image courtesy: LBSNAA

This is a BizHeadz® curated property. Follow us on

Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

Get your articles published here. Write to us now to

To read more articles, visit Articles

To publish your articles, visit Publish


Recent Articles

Blog Image
31 October 2020
Indepth Jr is making its mark in the growing ed-tech space.

Jazah Co-Founder, Indepth Jr Know more about how to use Indepth Jr from its Co-Founder Indepth Jr is an online…

Blog Image
Flow of Indian students is an alert!

Roshni Franciss T Student Months back one of my seniors at the college who already completed his post-graduation in 2018…

Blog Image
30 October 2020
In the middle of a pandemic, a request to skill yourself.

Jisham Ashraf Founder, Indepth Jr Indepth Jr is an online platform to skill kids in the Grade 5-12 by providing…

Blog Image
21 June 2020
Redefining Journalism: A talk with Asiaville’s Athira Madhav

– – Athira Madhav is a multimedia producer working at Asiaville Malayalam. Her innate ability to present complex news in…

Blog Image
10 June 2020
Interview with the man who made ‘boat out of a saree’

– K&K Techs is a YouTube channel run by Alappuzha based vlogger Saiju Thomas. The channel has around 1.3 lakh…

Blog Image
8 June 2020
UPSC CSE 2020: How to become an IAS officer

– Civil Service Examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission. To know more about exam visit UPSC. How…